Webinar: Trap Cropping in Organic Strawberries

Trap Cropping in Organic Strawberries Webinar

Join eOrganic for a webinar next week on Trap Cropping in Organic Strawberries to Manage Lygus Bugs in California, by Diego Nieto of the University of California Santa Cruz. The free webinar takes place on Tuesday, December 3 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). Advance registration is required. Diego Nieto will discuss the rationale for using alfalfa trap crops in organic strawberries. Points of emphasis will include the efficient and targeted approach to pest management, improved classical biological control and predator dispersion and behavior. Along with research findings from recent studies, this presentation will include grower recommendations for the implementation of trap cropping. Diego Nieto is an entomological researcher at the University of California, Santa Cruz, where he has worked to address pest issues in commercial agriculture for 12 years. He has researched biological control, farmscaping and integrated pest management in cotton, broccoli, Brussels sprouts and strawberries.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*