Flaxseed for the Organic Dairy Herd – Webinar

Organic Dairy Herd

May 12 Webinar: Flaxseed for the Organic Dairy Herd Diet

Join eOrganic for a webinar focused on research that is evaluating flaxseed as a feed supplement to the organic dairy herd diet. The webinar will take place on May 12, 2016 at 2 p.m. Eastern Time, 1 p.m. Central, 12 p.m. Mountain and 11 a.m. Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public; advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5566135052837511681

About the Flaxseed for the Organic Dairy Herd Webinar

Flaxseed is an oilseed rich in fat, making it an excellent energy source for livestock. Flaxseed can be fed as a supplement to pasture to boost omega-3 fatty acids in milk. This also affects the dairy cow’s health, reproductive fertility, and methane (a potent greenhouse gas) emissions.

Funded by a grant from the USDA Organic Research and Extension Initiative, a multi-state project has been exploring how organic dairy farmers in the Northeast can enhance farm profitability by extending the grazing season and adding value to milk through feed supplementation. In this webinar, Drs. Andre Brito and Heather Darby describe some results of the study.

Dr. Darby will start the webinar by sharing results of field trials she’s conducted in northern Vermont looking at the performance of flax varieties, planting dates, and weed management. Dr. Brito will then describe his work on feeding flaxseed to organic dairy cows.

About the Presenters

Dr. Andre Brito is an associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of New Hampshire, focusing on dairy organic management. He currently leads the USDA OREI project, “Assisting Organic Dairy Producers to Meet the Demands of New and Emerging Milk Markets” which is funding the projects he will discuss.

Dr. Heather Darby is an associate professor of agronomy at the University of Vermont Extension, where she conducts applied research and farmer outreach programs on farm-based fuel, cover crops and soil health, nutrient management, organic livestock forages, and grain production systems in the Northeast.

System Requirements

Please connect to the webinar 10 minutes in advance, as the webinar program will require you to download software. To test your connection in advance, go here. You can either listen via your computer speakers or call in by phone (toll call). Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar.  If you are running Mac OSU with Safari, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar, and if it isn’t working, try Firefox or Chrome. Find more detailed system requirements here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*