Behavior Based Grazing Management Webinar

Behavior Based Grazing Management

A Plant-Herbivore Interaction Webinar by eOrganic

November 14, 2013

Join eOrganic for a webinar on behavior based grazing management with Dr. Darrell Emmick on Thursday, November 14, 2013 at 2 PM Eastern Time (1 PM Central, 12  PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific Time).  The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the speaker. Register here. About the Webinar "No machine can harvest a ton of nutrients with higher quality and less cost than an animal can through managed grazing. However, unlike a machine that does not care what a plant looks, smells, feels, or tastes like; animals do care. And therefore, when pasture is too short, too tall, or not suitable in species composition for the kind and class of livestock present, animal nutritional requirements are not met, performance is compromised, and pasture ceases to be a functional asset." -- Darrell Emmick, Managing Pasture as a Crop: A Guide to Good Grazing. In this webinar, Dr. Darrell Emmick will address the keys of maximizing plant-herbivore interactions through behavior-based grazing management, defined as the incorporation of behavioral principles in grazing management planning to enhance animal well-being, ecosystem health, and enterprise sustainability.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*