Webinar: Economics of Organic Dairy Farming

Economics of Organic Dairy Farming Webinar

December 12, 2013

Join eOrganic for a webinar on the Economics of Organic Dairy Farming with Dr. Bob Parsons on Thursday, December 12, 2013 at 2 PM Eastern Time (1 PM Central, 12 PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the speaker. Register here. In Vermont, 23% or 210 dairy farms are certified organic. These farms contribute $76 million annually to the state’s economy and support 1,009 jobs. University of Vermont agricultural economist Bob Parsons has been collecting financial data from many of these farms for almost 10 years as the longest running economic analysis of organic dairy operations in the U.S. In this webinar, Dr. Parsons will share his findings and provide a look at the economic benefits and challenges to running organic dairy farms.

About the Presenter: Dr. Robert Parsons is an Extension agricultural economist in the Department of Community Development and Applied Economics at the University of Vermont. He received his MS in Agricultural Economics and Operations Research from Penn State University and his PhD in Agricultural Economics from Virginia Tech. At the University of Vermont, Bob conducts Extension programs on business management, farm succession, ag labor management, and risk management. In addition, he teaches undergraduate courses, including ag policy. In 2012, Bob co-authored a Union of Concerned Scientists report called, "Cream of the Crop: The Economic Benefits of Organic Dairy Farms."

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*